Jul 31, 2020
0 0

The European Union imposed sanctions against structures and citizens of Russia and China for cyberattacks

The European Union has introduced restrictive measures against the structures and citizens of Russia and China, allegedly involved in cyberattacks, TASS reports.

Six individuals and three organizations are included in the list of persons subject to restrictive measures. The "Main Center for Special Technologies" of the Main Directorate of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation and four Russian citizens fell under the sanctions.

The EU claims the center is allegedly responsible for cyberattacks that pose an external threat to the alliance. In particular, we are talking about the NotPetya (or EternalPetya) attack, which occurred in June 2017.

Oleg Sotnikov, Evgeny Serebryakov, Alexey Morenets and Alexey Minin were named as individuals responsible for the cyberattacks.

Earlier, Siluanov said that the Russian authorities did not use the services of hackers. According to the head of the Ministry of Finance, Moscow has nothing to do with any cyber attacks on Western pharmaceutical companies. It was also reported that Maria Zakharova called Berlin's statements about Russian hacker attacks nonsense.

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply